Morris Manning & Martin, LLP

Ben Dyer

Ben Dyer

Entrepreneur in Residence
Phone: 404.364.7475
Fax: 404
[email protected]
Join my LinkedIn network

Ben Dyer is Entrepreneur in Residence at Morris, Manning & Martin, LLP. Early in 2018 he was instrumental in converting the incubator TechSquare Labs near Georgia Tech into a corporate innovation center focused on logistics and led by GA-Pacific. He is an advisor to Polygraph Media, a data-science-driven Facebook Marketing Partner based in Austin and to Avexia, a Denver company creating a digital health solution to manage the physical and psychological recoveries of injured athletes. He serves on the board of BeHome247, a Hilton Head-based IoT company in the home automation and property management market.

Prior to joining MMM, Dyer spent seven years in Austin, where he was Entrepreneur in Residence at the Cockrell School of Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin and taught undergraduate students in the Longhorn Startup Program. He also chaired the Qualifying Committee for the SXSW Accelerator. A blogger since 2005, he currently authors, through which he is producing content for a book by that name.

Dyer is best known as a founder of Peachtree Software and served as its president from inception through its sale to Management Science America in 1981. He subsquently founded Comsell, an early interactive media company that he sold to Rupert Murdoch’s News Corporation, followed by Intellimedia, which created CD-ROMs for sports education and transitioned into web development in the late 1990’s. Intellimedia was funded by Cox Enterprises, its largest customer. Dyer was a general partner in a 2000-vintage $41M seed stage venture fund in Atlanta that was concluded in 2017.

Dyer has concentrated his community activities on higher education. He has been president of the Georgia Tech Alumni Association and Chairman of the Georgia Tech Research Corporation. In 2006 he received the Joseph Mayo Petit Alumni Distinguished Service Award, Georgia Tech’s highest honor for its alumni. In 1998 Dyer was inducted as the 14th member of Georiga’s Technology Hall of Fame. 


  • Recipient, Joseph Mayo Petit Alumni Distinguished Service Award
  • Member, Georgia Technology Hall of Fame
  • Emeritus Board Member, Georgia Tech Foundation and Georgia Tech Research Corporation